Murphy’s Law & Motherhood

5:45AM and I’m making a cup of coffee. Vince is already gone for work and Deklen is up. Usually when he gets up at this time, he’s up for at least an hour so it’s time for coffee. Last night he slept okay but the two nights before were hell- the baby waking up every hour. I come back to the bedroom with my coffee and yes! The baby is asleep again! Maybe I can lay down with him and get another hour of sleep! It’ll take a lot more than that to catch up, but I’ll take what I can get. Before I know it, my alarm has gone off. Snooze button. The alarm goes off again and I wonder if I had even gotten any more sleep. Before having the baby, I had nearly perfect attendance. I will have to admit though, since having him, I have taken a few days off; justifying to myself that “I’m too tired to drive and really should just stay home today.” Yesterday was one of these days and Deklen was up and active as ever while I tried to get things done. So I really had to make sure I got to program today. I fed the baby and got him dressed into a cute striped onsie: “Daddy’s Little Tiger” it says. And I get the matching pants on him with the cute tiger face on the butt and pull them onto him. I get myself dressed as Deklen continues to sleep, remembering that my favorite nursing shirt is clean and deciding to wear that and a pair of jeans. If I hadn’t taken the day to myself yesterday I could be sleeping with him right now. Oh well. That’s part of being a responsible adult and taking care of the things I was told to take care of when I got in trouble with the law. I look at the clock. We HAVE to be out of here by 8:15. I never get there on time if I leave any later. And it looks like we’re going to be on time. I’m too tired to deal with makeup, and my hair is doing it’s own natural wavy thing without being brushed so I’ll leave it. Time to grab Deklen and head out the door, but then I see him do this funny fidget thing that I’ve come to recognize before hearing the telltale sounds of a dirty diaper. Ok, a diaper change is going to set us back in time a little bit (especially because he’s wearing pants) but oh well, I’m not going to have him sitting in that. He cries a bit because he doesn’t really want to be jostled around by a diaper change while he’s trying to sleep. Must be nice… I guess he’s realizing there’s sleep to catch up on.

I carry him out to the car and just as I lift him off of my shoulder to put him in the car seat, I hear a burp which is accompanied by a warm and wet sensation that runs quickly from my neck down onto my clean/favorite shirt, and down my shirt. The spit up is also in my hair. The most I can do if I’m dedicated to being on time is to grab a burp cloth and wipe it up as best I can, knowing it won’t all come out of my hair that easily. Oh well. He sleeps through the car ride, and through program… nearly the whole time… Why couldn’t he have done this yesterday?? Or tomorrow (Saturday)?? We go to Babies R Us and I feed him again. He sleeps through the shopping, and the ride home.

I was accused of being “on strike” with housework after a few Walmart bags sat by the door for a couple days. So, getting some housecleaning done is a top priority before Vince gets home today…

On top of all that, my first draft of this post (which I feel was more well written than this one) was lost after 45 minutes of working on it.

The point of today’s story is that when I want sleep the most, Deklen fusses and demands all the attention and energy that I simply don’t have. And on a day when my schedule really doesn’t allow for a nap, he decides to catch up on lost sleep. ALL DAY LONG. I’m willing to bet that this is going to mean him being up throughout the night once again… This is the most trying responsibility I’ve ever had and still worth every moment.

Leave a Reply

